New Premier, Cabinet and Vision for Nova Scotia


**** PREMIER’S OFFICE Media Release

New Premier, Cabinet and Vision for Nova Scotia
Iain Rankin was sworn in as Nova Scotia’s 29th Premier today, Feb. 23. His 16-member cabinet, in revamped roles and departments, support his vision for a dynamic and prosperous Nova Scotia.

Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc presided over the ceremony at Halifax’s Convention Centre, which followed COVID-19 protocols.

“I am honoured to be serving with these dedicated people who, as a team, are excited and ready to get to work on behalf of all Nova Scotians,” said Premier Rankin. “The changes made in government today are a first step in fulfilling my promise to put the province on track for a successful economic recovery from the global pandemic.”

The cabinet includes the new Department of Infrastructure and Housing and the Office of Equity and Anti-Racism. There is also a new Office of Mental Health and Addictions under the Department of Health and Wellness.

Several departments were renamed to reflect the premier’s focus on population growth, climate change and infrastructure.

Premier Rankin will also serve as president of the Executive Council and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Regulatory Affairs and Service Effectiveness. He is Minister of the Department of L’Nu Affairs, formally the Office of Aboriginal Affairs, and responsible for youth, military relations and the Office of Citizen-Centered Approaches.

Kelly Regan becomes Deputy Premier. The veteran minister retains her position as Minister of Community Services with responsibility for the Advisory Council on the Status of Women. She also takes on the Department of Seniors.

Labi Kousoulis is the province’s new Minister of Finance and Treasury Board and Minister of Inclusive Economic Growth, the renamed Department of Business. He is also responsible for trade. Randy Delorey is Attorney General and Minister of Justice and Minister of Labour Relations.

With today’s swearing-in, there will be three new faces around the cabinet table. Keith Irving, MLA for Kings South, was appointed Minister of Environment and Climate Change. The newly named department recognizes the importance of climate change to government policy and decision making. Mr. Irving will also serve as Chair of Treasury and Policy Board.

Ben Jessome, MLA for Hammonds Plains-Lucasville, becomes Minister of the Public Service Commission, and Brendan Maguire, MLA for Halifax Atlantic, is the province’s new Minister of Municipal Affairs.

Zach Churchill, whose previous portfolios included the departments of Education and Early Childhood Development and Municipal Affairs, becomes Minister of Health and Wellness. He will oversee the new Office of Mental Health and Addictions.

Chuck Porter returns to cabinet as Minister of Lands and Forestry and Energy and Mines, and Derek Mombourquette becomes Minister of Education and Early Childhood Development.

Tony Ince returns to cabinet to lead the new Office of Equity and Anti-Racism, in addition to retaining responsibility for the Office of African Nova Scotian Affairs. He also adds Communications Nova Scotia to his portfolio.

Placing emphasis on the important role immigration plays in the economy and within our communities, the Office of Immigration evolves to Immigration and Population Growth with Lena Metlege Diab as minister. She remains as Minister of both Labour and Advanced Education and Acadian Affairs and Francophonie.

Geoff MacLellan will lead the new Department of Infrastructure and Housing.

The Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal becomes Transportation and Active Transit, with Lloyd Hines remaining as minister.

Keith Colwell continues as Minister of Agriculture and of Fisheries and Aquaculture.

Patricia Arab retains her role as Minister of Service Nova Scotia and Internal Services.

Suzanne Lohnes-Croft remains as Minister of Communities, Culture and Heritage and Gaelic Affairs and adds responsibility for the Voluntary Sector to her portfolio.


Premier Appoints New Leaders, Adds Diversity to Senior Ranks
Premier Iain Rankin has appointed senior staff to help lead the changes he announced earlier today, Feb. 23, revamping departments to support his vision for a dynamic and prosperous Nova Scotia.

“Together with elected officials, government’s senior leaders are part of the team that will be making positive changes on behalf of Nova Scotians,” said Premier Rankin. “Having more diversity among our public servant leaders is a priority for me, as we work to implement more equitable policies and programs for all Nova Scotians.”

The province is welcoming three new leaders.

Késa Munroe-Anderson is the new deputy minister of Communities, Culture and Heritage. Ms. Munroe-Anderson brings a passion for an Africentric approach to leadership and comes to us from the Human Rights Commission, where she has been the director of Race Relations.

Eiryn Devereaux is returning home to Nova Scotia as the deputy minister for the new Department of Infrastructure and Housing. Mr. Devereaux is currently a senior executive in the Government of Nunavut and has experience in housing and infrastructure management.

Nicole Johnson Morrison will join government at the end of March as the new associate deputy minister of Labour and Advanced Education. Ms. Johnson Morrison is most recently the president and CEO of EduNova and has also worked with NSBI where she was the manager of Trade Market Intelligence and a senior trade strategist.

Being promoted from within the public service is Andrea Anderson who will take on the role of public service commissioner. Ms. Anderson has held the roles of managing director and executive director at the commission and has recently been working with senior leaders on anti-black racism initiatives.
​ ​
From the Department of Environment, Scott Farmer is moving over to serve as deputy minister for the newly named Department of Inclusive Economic Growth. He is being joined by Jennifer Church as a new associate deputy minister. Ms. Church will also take on associate deputy minister duties at the Office of Strategy Management.

Jason Hollett steps up as the new associate deputy minister of the renamed Department of Environment and Climate Change. He will work with Julie Towers who becomes the deputy minister, hailing from the Department of Lands and Forestry.

Moving from the Department of Labour and Advanced Education as associate deputy minister, Ava Czapalay is now the new CEO and deputy minister for the Office of Immigration and Population Growth. As a descendent of immigrants, Ms. Czapalay will bring important perspective to this role.

Additional leadership changes include:
— Justin Huston retains leadership of the newly named Office of L’nu Affairs, and he becomes deputy minister of the Department of Municipal Affairs
— Cathy Berliner, moves from the Department of Municipal Affairs to take on the deputy minister role at the new Office of Equity and Anti-Racism Initiatives
— Paul LaFleche remains as deputy minister for the Department of Transportation and Active Transit, and also takes on deputy minister duties at the Department of Lands and Forestry
— with the retirement of Deputy Minister Byron Rafuse at the end of March, Kelliann Dean becomes deputy minister of Finance and Treasury Board. She retains responsibility for Intergovernmental Affairs and Trade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *